About Moscow

It is believed that Moscow is eight and a half centuries old. The first record of it in the chronicles is dated in the year 1147, and its history starts with a legend about how the Prince Yury Dolgoruky («Long-armed»), who is considered the founder of the city, invited his neighbour - a Prince as well - to a council; and in honor of the event «there was a powerful dinner» in Moscow.
 
Many centuries ago, the city was built on seven hills. It is rather difficult to discern them now, with the only exception of Borovitsky Hill where one of the twenty Kremlin towers stands. The Kremlin (translated from Greek, the word means «a steep hill») and Red Square definitely are the main Moscow sights, symbols of the whole of Russia.
 
The intricate towers and walls of the Moscow Kremlin were built to a design of Italian architects. In the Kremlin, close to the 81 - meter tall Bell-Tower of Ivan the Great - once the highest building in Russia - the Tsar-Bell is on display the largest bell in the world. 
 
At the highest point of Moscow - Vorobyovy Gory (Hills) - there is a viewing area from which you can see the panorama of the Moskva river bend and the Big Arena of Luzhniki Stadium where the opening and closing ceremonies of the Olympic Games were held in 1980.
 
Among the scores of Moscow theatres, the most famous is the Bolshoi (Grand). 
There are more than 60 museums in the capital; the most popular of which are the Kremlin, the Pushkin Museum of Art with its unique collection of impressionist and modernist paintings, and the Tretyakov Gallery.
The most impressive buildings are St. Basil's Cathedral in Red Square, the rebuilt Christ the Savior Cathedral, and the complex of Novodevichy (New Maidens) Convent.
 
In Moscow itself and around it there are many very interesting estates - Kolomenskoe, Arkhangelskoe, Kuskovo, Ostankino – more than worth visiting. And from Moscow starts a most interesting tour around small ancient Russian towns - the Golden Ring.
Red Square. Moscow’s word famous central square has been the site of many important events throughout Russian and Soviet history. It has been the stage for mass worker demonstrations and grand parades of the Russian Armed Forces. 
Moscow Kremlin. The Kremlin is the city’s main tourist attraction, situated in the heart of Russia’s capital. Its formidable walls and cupolas, golden-domed cathedrals, ancient towers and palaces stand high on Borovitsky Hill overlooking the Moskva River and form a uniquely beautiful and grandiose architectural ensemble. 
Bolshoi Theatre. The world famous Bolshoi Theatre is Russia’s leading venue for opera and ballet. The Bolshoi Theatre represents the benchmark of quality in balletic and operatic spectacles, as well as imperial pride and the warmest of welcomes to foreign guests.
Tretyakov Gallery. The State Tretyakov Gallery is the capital’s most famous art museum, founded by merchant Pavel Tretyakov in 1856. Today it is a major public cultural institution, composed of several museums, the principal of which is the museum complex in Lavrushinsky Lane. 
The Moscow Metro. Moscow metro stations are “the underground palaces of Moscow” characterised by entrance halls and underground galleries of truly palatial splendour. The underground complexes are decorated with statues and relief sculptures, and exquisite artworks (paintings, mosaics, stained glass and murals) from the country’s leading artists.
Novodevichy Convent. One of the most beautiful cloisters in Moscow, today the Novodevichy Convent is affiliated with the State Historical Museum. However, services are still held in the temples. This is something that can often be seen in the capital - cultural preservation of historical legacy and contemporary spirituality co-existing in harmony.
Cathedral of Christ the Saviour. This memorial cathedral was erected in honour of the victory of the war of 1812, and in memory of the fallen. Cathedrals such as this were traditionally built in celebration of religious festivals or in honour of a saint. This one, however, was built in the name of Christ himself.
Kolomenskoye. The Kolomenskoye Estate was the tsar’s residence and ancestral lands. Today it is a stunning historical and cultural monument with extensive grounds covering 390 hectares and forming part of the State Historical Museum Association. The park exits on the south-east to the embankment of the Moskva River, where pleasure boats depart from the marina.

О Москве

Неповторимый облик городу придает удивительное сочетание прошлого и настоящего: переплетение уютных переулков Старого Арбата, где до утра не смолкают шум и пение уличных музыкантов, и просторные, наполненные суматохой современной жизни московские проспекты; здания исторических усадеб, древних монастырей и внушительные сооружения из стекла и бетона.
 
На протяжении практически всей своей истории Москва была центром притяжения для самых одаренных людей русской земли. Столица стала сосредоточием культурной жизни страны, здесь открывались музеи и проводились фестивали, здесь творили поэты и находили источники вдохновения живописцы. Прекрасная архитектура столицы, Московский Кремль и Красная площадь, стали символами России, ее самой узнаваемой достопримечательностью, посмотреть на которую ежегодно приезжают миллионы туристов со всех концов света.
 
Ни на минуту не останавливается культурная жизнь столицы. Десятки театров, от самых известных до скромных театров-студий, не только представляют на суд российских зрителей свои лучшие постановки и неожиданные премьеры, но и устраивают продолжительные гастроли за границей, позволяя зарубежным зрителям ближе познакомиться с уникальной русской культурой.
 
Лучшие творения знаменитых мастеров и уникальные исторические находки можно увидеть в многочисленных музеях Москвы: Музее изобразительных искусств имени Пушкина, Третьяковской галерее, Оружейной палате московского Кремля и многих других музеях и галереях, которые посвящены истории, культуре и искусству в самых разнообразных его проявлениях.
Красная площадь - главная и наиболее известная площадь Москвы и России, арена многих важных событий русской истории и истории Советского государства, место массовых демонстраций трудящихся столицы и парадов Вооружённых Сил России. 
Московский Кремль - главная достопримечательность города, расположен в самом центре столицы России. Его мощные стены и башни, златоверхие храмы, древние терема и дворцы возвышаются на Боровицком холме над Москвой-рекой и образуют неповторимый по красоте и величию архитектурно-художественный ансамбль. 
Большой театр - главный в России театр оперы и балета, хорошо известный за пределами страны. Большой театр - эталон качества балетных и оперных спектаклей, имперская гордость, в обязательном порядке демонстрируемая зарубежным гостям.
Третьяковская галерея — самый известный художественный музей в столице, основанный купцом Павлом Третьяковым в 1856 г. Сегодня это крупное государственное учреждение культуры, в состав которого входят несколько музеев, главным из которых остается музейный комплекс в Лаврушинском переулке.
Станции Московского метрополитена - «подземные дворцы Москвы», отличаются поистине дворцовым великолепием вестибюлей и подземных залов. Подземные комплексы украшены статуями и рельефами, монументально-декоративными композициями (живопись, мозаика, витражи и росписи) ведущих художников страны. 
Новодевичий монастырь - один из самых красивых монастырей Москвы, сегодня относится к Историческому музею. Но и службы в храмах тоже проводятся. Как это часто можно встретить в столице — в одном месте гармонично сосуществуют историческое наследие в виде музейной части и духовная составляющая. 
Храм Христа Спасителя, его возвели в честь победы и в память о павших в войне 1812 года. По традиции такие объектные храмы строились в честь церковных праздников или в честь святого. Но этот храм воздвигли во имя самого Спасителя. 
Коломенское когда-то было царской резиденцией и вотчиной, а сегодня это красивейший памятник истории и культуры с огромной территорией в 390 гектар в составе объединенного Московского государственного музея-заповедника. На юго-востоке парк выходит на набережную Москвы-реки, с пристани отходят прогулочные теплоходы.